Islamic Calligraphy

Amazon Book Reviews for the Duality of Time

See also Kirkus Review for this book and other reviews page.

Review by: Jonah Erickson

Thought-Provoking, Challenging View of Reality and Existence

March 10, 2018

The premise of the book is simple: time exists in a "real," vacuum state which we then experience in a latent, secondary state. In other words, by removing all of human existence and observable matter one layer away from the truth, we are then able to make more sense of what have otherwise been unexplainable observations at the quantum level. I am not a science graduate, but I was able to navigate the book's arguments fairly easily, looking up the more obscure topic here and there when it wasn't explained fully in the book. For this reason, I would say that it is ultimately an accessible read, if not an easy one. The topic is challenging, and I'll be honest, not entirely convincing. But for those reasons alone, it is worth a good read. We all want to understand more about the universe, and believe that we will perhaps be able to find a better explanation for our existence than those that religious or mystic powers would have to say. In the end, I did not find the arguments more satisfactory than religious explanations for our existence, and in fact believe that this book points out one of the issues I have with such in-depth, complex scientific observations about the nature of the universe: you have to take it all in faith anyways, since no layman would ever be able to understand or confirm that the principles set forth by this book are true. All in all, a thought-provoking, interesting and engaging read.

 
Review by: Charles Hanna

Fascinating blend of science and mysticism

February 26, 2018

Mohamed Haj Yousef blends physics and mysticism as he explores the detailed workings of time and space, exploding our western notions of the separation between religion and science. A published scholar with years of experience and contemplation, Yousef proposes the importance of involving the heart and senses in the intellectual, cerebral process of exploring the universe.

His writing, which explains elaborate scientific concepts and a detailed trajectory of cosmological study, is not a dry rendition of facts and formulas, but rather, a veritable flying carpet, woven with the threads of physics, mysticism, personal biography, and the poetic, spiritual musings of literary greats such as the Sufi poet Rumi.

As someone much uninitiated in the topics that Yousef presents, I much appreciated his historical explanation of cosmological study as it progressed through different cultures and eras, such as ancient Babylonia and Greece, Medieval Europe and the Middle East, the Renaissance, through Newton, and on to today. His explanations of alchemy and mysticism were also thorough and excellent.

Unifying our understanding of time and space, man and the universe, Yousef’s book is a must for anyone interested in exploring the very fabric of reality, and flying high into the realms of mystical contemplation.

 
Review by: Rev. Stephen R. Wilson

Intriguing ideas...

February 9, 2019

I’ve always been interested in theories explaining the Universe as we know it, so I decided to pick up this book hoping it would expand my horizons and give me a fresh outlook on the topic. I have to admit that it did, even if I don’t find some aspects of Yousef’s dual states of time believable. After all, there currently is no way of finding out which theory describes the origin and the inner workings of our Universe most precisely, so it could well be that there is more truth to the duality of time than one would suppose.

The book explains rather complex topics in a very accessible way, so you don’t really have to be well-versed in science to fully comprehend it. I did have to Google some terms and notions, but overall, it was quite easy to follow the author’s thoughts and arguments even if I didn’t always agree with them.

 
Review by: A Cannady

Prepare to think, and rethink, and then think again.

May 4, 2018

In “The Duality of Time,” Mohamed Haj Yousef combines two paradoxical sciences: the physical realm and psychic realm. He takes years of research and analyzes them to explain to the reader how these two topics are actually intertwined. This thought is generally enough to set skeptics of either side ablaze, but the author explains the historical proof, scientific analysis and mystical side in a way that makes his thought processes seem logical and understandable. While this is not an easy read, it is also not necessary to be a scientific genius to understand it – however, I think anyone who picks up this book intending to read through it probably already has inferred that it is going to be a topic that is going to take some thinking. I am pretty open-minded, but this book had me studying what I do feel is irrefutable fact versus what may actually be the truth. Be ready, if you read this book, to face down some serious thought analysis and possible some big paradigm shifts in your thinking.

 
Review by: Emerson Rose Craig

Interesting and Well-Researched

March 12, 2018

"In reality, Time is real, yet is it only known by the imagination"
Duality of Time by Mohamed Haj Yousef is a book that explores deeply what time is and the complexity of this duality of real and imaginary. The beginning of the book opens with an introduction that is very helpful to reading the rest of the book. Not only does it give a break down of what to expect but takes the time to give a reading path that is different to readers who are beginners in the subject verse those that already have a solid understanding of the basics of the subject. I really liked that while reading this book I could tell that a lot of research and passion went into the work. The subject is a big one and Yousef did a good job of organizing the ideas to make it an interesting read. This is a dense read and I was challenged in my thinking but I enjoyed reading this book and would definitely recommend it.

 
Review by: Shanell

Keeping thus in the library for further reference

March 9, 2018

Duality of Time: Complex-Time Geometry & Perpetual Creation of Space by Mohamed Haj Yousef brings forth many complex concepts that are hard to grasp if you don’t have a working understanding of physics. I personally am limited on my experience with physics and I had trouble grasping many of the concepts and following along. Even though I struggled I did enjoy expanding my knowledge and learning the history of familiar philosophical concepts such as quantum mechanics, string theory and relativity as well as learning more about major philosophers such as Einstein, Plato and Newton. Housed has obviously spent time educating himself and put in the research to back his book. While I may not have fully understood every concept discussed, I fully enjoyed reading and learning more. I will keep this one in my library to refer back to as I broaden my knowledge and understand of physics.

 
Review by: astrofan

Better than many books with a similar theme.

February 26, 2018

What I liked most about this book is that it wasn't overly dismissive of widely accepted scientific theories or dive into half-baked hypotheses the way that other, similar books I read were. The Sumerians are mentioned, for instance, but there's no unproven claptrap about Ancient Aliens or giants. The author has clearly done his homework and weaves the latest in topics like quantum physics into this book. Some of it was a trifle over my head, but should be understandable to anyone who majors in the sciences. If I had to make a nitpick, it's that the author takes a little long to dive into the subject matter. As long as a book is laid out in a clear, concise, and logical manner, I don't really need a long spiel on its format! Otherwise, this book does a good job of making the author's case about the nature of time.

 
Review by: Kat Denning

A Unique Theory based in Religion, Science, and Pseudoscience

April 29, 2018

The theory behind the duality of time is an interesting amalgamation of science and mysticism. It combines a wide variety of scientific theories on everything from relativity to geometry to quantum mechanics and then meshes them up with Islamic teachings, metaphysics, numerology, and poetry (specifically those of Ibn al-Arabi). He even taps into the area of the Adamic "Perfect Man" (or the "Isthmus"), the seven cosmic days of creation, and other more religious, metaphysical, and pseudoscience areas, which I didn't feel tied back into the original Duality of Time theory well. In many places I felt like he was trying too hard to link nature, science, and God based on a specific set of teachings. As an atheist, I tried my best to keep an open mind to his theory, but he kept losing me when he introduced pseudoscience and superstition such as numerology, astrology (the 28 mansions of the Moon), and alchemy (making infinite equations finite).
One other issue I had with this book was the formatting. The text size of the equations and quotes are way too small and bumping up text sizes on my e-reader made them fuzzier rather than more readable. Also, things like the table/figure captions were larger than the general text. The text on the figures themselves were also often too small to read comfortably.

 
Review by: Amanda Adams

Put your thinking caps on

February 8, 2019

DUALITY OF TIME: Complex-Time Geometry and Perpetual Creation of Space (The Single Monad Model of The Cosmos Book 2). I hate to sound like a yokel but that title alone is a bit intimidating. The author, Mohamed Haj Yousef, is a scholar and obviously a man of superior intelligence. His grasp of physics along with the incredibly vast array of other themes that are discussed in Duality of Time is astonishing. The notion of time travel and alternate realities is as fascinating as it is complicated but somehow this author was able to put his ideas out there in a way that can be at least understood superficially by the average person. I will be going back to reread parts to get a better understanding of the parts I am most interested in. I enjoyed reading this much more than I expected to when I initially read the title and then the summary. It's nice when you come off a book feeling a tad smarter or more informed.

 
Review by: Christa T.

This Book Will Make You Think, Read, and Read Again...

May 14, 2018

This one is going to make you think. There is no doubt about that. If you can go into it with an open mind, I think this is a book that most people COULD enjoy. First things first, this is a bit challenging as far as books go...and it took me a long time to get through because I kept feeling like I had to read, and then re-read, to get some of the concepts down. Basically, the author, Mohamed Haj Yousef, has created a philosophy surrounding science and mysticism, and kind of combining them into one. Again, it's hard to explain because there are a lot of moving parts that make up his philosophy.

Whatever you like, even some history, you will find in this book. If you are someone who gets excited about science, exploring different theories, and even how "real" things can relate to concepts such as numerology and astrological ideals, you will probably like this book. My best advice is to give it a chance...it's a little hard to get into, but I definitely had a great appreciation for these concepts and the work that the author put into this book.

 
Review by: Mercedes Diaz

For Curious Minds

February 12, 2019

Okay, get ready to constantly look up various definitions and watch a few YouTube videos on some of the concepts discussed in this book. You won’t regret the time spent catching up because once you can wrap your head around the many facets of life that surround or dictate our construct of time, you’ll only want more.

The text itself is a bit of a difficult read, but that didn’t stop me, and it shouldn’t stop anyone else either. The discussion on charges of energy and the intersections of dimensions regarding time is mind-blowing. Overall this book will make you question your existence, the reality around you and take comfort in knowing that other’s too have examined these aspects. More than anything the author supports the concept that understanding any of these concepts don’t just rely on the physical nature of being, but the aspects of heart and belief too.

 
Review by: Rachel K

An Interesting Book

May 14, 2018

This book by Mohamed Haj Yousef will take you on an intriguing journey through time as it explores the theory of the duality of time. This book looks at this theory through ancient manuscripts, philosophy, and Sufi traditions to discover more behind the intricacies of time and how it works. The book also explores complex-time geometry which looks at how space dimensions are constantly being created which results in what we call time. Because this book touches on such an intricate topic, it includes a helpful guide in the beginning that will walk you through the structure of the book to help make it easier for you to read.

If you’re looking for an interesting book that explores the mysteries of life, like physics, you’ll enjoy this book. It’s filled with mathematical and philosophical ideas and problems that will make you think more about this aspect of life. At 340 pages, it might be a little bit of a long read for some, but it’s certainly worth trying out.

 
Review by: Sara N McIntosh

Time and space are easier to connect and compare than I ever thought before

February 28, 2018

While there is so much to spiritually believe in youth from a religious perspective or other mythical themes presented, it becomes questionable as further theories of the physical universe are presented to us upon many years of school. This is definitely interesting to read a deep connection among both physical time and space theories along with spiritual theories of our space and universe. It's incredible to read that life or beliefs don't have to be only one way or another, but that a connection can be held to help manage a sort of even thought or sanity when trying to compare all of these theories.

 
Review by: Mike

Interesting

April 3, 2018

DUALITY OF TIME: Complex-Time Geometry and Perpetual Creation of Space (The Single Monad Model of The Cosmos Book 2) by Mohamed Haj Yousef is a unique take on how time and space intertwine and what makes the universe tick. This book may not be the best for those who do not have a science background. I would like to think that I have a moderate amount of knowledge about physics and general science and I found myself fact checking and looking may things up. However, if you are interested in another perspective on life and how the universe works, then this book will definitely make you think. The concepts that were presented in DUALITY OF TIME: Complex-Time Geometry and Perpetual Creation of Space (The Single Monad Model of The Cosmos Book 2) are interesting and definitely worth reading even if you do not find yourself a believer in Mohamed Haj Yousef’s ideas.

 
Review by: Stina H.

I recommend this book

March 14, 2018

"The Duality of Time" is a book which provides complex and interesting discussions about creation and time and the theories about these subjects throughout history. As well as the Duality of Time Theory, other topics in the book include physics and meta-physics; philosophy and cosmology, both ancient and modern; time and the single Monad model, complex-time hyperbolic geometry; consciousness and the three orthogonal worlds; and alchemy and eternal symmetry.

I found the sections about "The Seven Cosmic Days" and "The Significance of the Week" especially fascinating. One doesn't often stop to think about why exactly we have seven days in a week. I also learned a lot about different types of energy – something else I never took time to think about.

Einstein, Newton, Aristotle, and Galileo, among others, all play a role in this book. If you've always wondered about the history behind time and how our universe came to be, I recommend this book.

 
Review by: Amy Koller

Almost TOO Complex

February 6, 2019

“Duality of Time” is an interesting work that really has something for everyone, as long as the individual dives into the book with an incredibly open mind. “Duality of Time” is quite interesting in terms of the actual “theory” that the writer is striving to assert, and some of the historical references are quite striking. Is this a book for everyone? Definitely not. It’s incredibly complex and a lot of it people will miss completely. It’s also pretty hard to read in terms of the fonts that are used in many of the quotes. Overall it is a good book that should be read, but I think many people won’t appreciate it in the way that it should be appreciated.

 
Review by: Faith Lee

A complex subject yet easy to read and understand

June 22, 2018

If you are interested in the subject of physics, cosmology, and relativity, then "Duality of Time" will certainly be right up your alley. It is evident that the book has been written after much in-depth research. I also find this book more engaging than others in the same genre because of the author's sharing of his personal experience. It brings a personal touch to an otherwise cold and emotionless topic. We get to see the author's passion and interest in his subject and catch a glimpse of his journey of research and discovery about the duality of time over the years.

For such a complex subject, I would say the author has done well in making it rather easy to read and understand.

 
Review by: Katherine

Challenging

April 29, 2018

Duality of Time explores the concepts of time and religion and uses different events over time as the basis of his explanations. You can tell he put a lot of time and energy into his research and book. But please be advised that this isn’t a light read. It is thought provoking (the section about days of the week blew my mind). It is worth while if you can make your way through it.

 
Review by: Katy N

What Lies Beyond the Physical World

February 27, 2018

I appreciate the time, research, and thoughts put into this read. Yousef himself is a scholar, so his notions are not simply based on radical ideas, but t on his findings as he studied the history of cosmological studies. Yousef combines the notions of science and religion as the creation and development of our universe has flowed over time. I really enjoyed the historical aspects Yousef uses in his research. Studying the Renaissance era, the Middle Ages, Babylonian times, and more, he explains how the study of the universe has evolved over time, and what it is today.
This is a book that will expand your horizons as you leave the physical world to explore the heights of cosmological study and explore Yousef's research and ideas that he has established over two decades.

 
Review by: Tara Malone

Fascinating, but quite challenging for someone without a physics background

March 6, 2018

In Duality of Time, Haj Yousef addresses the long-standing conflict between science and religion and attempts to find a resolution. He spends much of the book giving a history of major philosophical concepts and personalities from Plato to Newton to Einstein, and also explains many of the basic concepts of physics, such as relativity, quantum mechanics, and string theory.

Though the book is not specifically geared to physicists or philosophers, it is really quite difficult for the lay reader to follow. The concepts expressed are complex, and I had to reread many of them multiple times to get a basic understanding of them. I also struggled to really understand the Duality of Time Theory and the concept of the Single Monad, which are central to the book.

That said, the questions Haj Yousef raises about science, religion, and cosmology are profound and fascinating. But overall, I really think this book is much better suited to individuals with at least a basic understanding of physics. As someone without a physics background, it was really challenging for me to grasp many of the concepts.

 
Review by: Ian J. Miller

Who is this for?

March 29, 2018

This is a difficult book to review because the first question is, who is it for? As will become evident, I am not sure. It starts with a summary of where this book is going, together with personal aspects of Yousef's journey. He has been infuenced by Sufi mysticism, he has been rejected by a number of modern physics journals, yet he promises to solve so much of the difficulties of modern physics. He then goes on to physics and philosophy from antiquity, and the author gives an interesting history, but comes up with some unexpected conclusions, such as the week is seven days long, corresponding to six spatial dimensions and time. (The six seemingly relies on negative values being different.) For me, the simplest explanation for the length of the week would lie, in my opinion, in the frequency of days the priests thought could be devoted to religion without ruining the economy. This is the first of many assertions that to me are not really demonstrated at all. Chapter 3 gives an airbrush account of modern physics and its problems. It establishes Yousef's credentials as knowing a reasonable amount about the topic, but in my opinion it is far to difficult for the non-physicist to follow, and if you can follow it, it is not offering anything you did not know already.
Then the author starts on his theory, which seems to be based on Sufi mysticism. We see text like, it is the one, but not the one. The concept seems to be that everything is due to "The Monad", which is the one, but there are other monads. Motion is represented as the Universe being annihilated and recreated in extraordinarily short grains of time but everything in a slightly different position, from which it is claimed the Uncertainty Principle follows. How? There are only two velocities: zero and light speed, and anything else is some sort of quantum mixing. Time is discrete, because of this annihilation/creation, and there are upper and lower levels of time: the lower one is real, and the upper (where we are) is purely complex. What follows are a number of assertions that major problems are solved.
However, there are problems here. This is used to solve the "homogeneity problem", which is why the Universe seems to be equivalent in all directions. The argument is that because of this annihilation/creation in the early Universe, preferred motion by any part in any direction was not allowed. My problem with that is it seems to deny all motion. Similarly, he makes quite quite a bit of being able to derive E = mc^2. The problem is, the real equation is actually E = (m^2.c^4 + p^2c^2)^1/2. He also explains how an electron and a positron annihilate into a photon. The problem is, they don't – you get two (necessary to conserve momentum.
The book then returns to mysticism. You get an account of alchemy, and then a descent into numerology.
There are problems with the editing. The most glaring one involved a statement of the sort, the equation is: and this is followed by bold type that starts by saying "sorry . ." If you cannot make the equation work, simply delete it and rewrite. It is not as if it were important. There was also a compiling issue: the equations are so small they are almost unreadable without very keen eyesight. (I know you can expand things up, but if you are continually doing that, you will lose the track of the argument.) Finally, the author uses a lot of very long complicated sentences, and in many parts, it is difficult to follow what he is saying. I know English is presumably not his native language, but that does not alter the need to write clear statements.
To summarise, if you want to know about Sufi mysticism and ancient science then over half the book is good for you, if you can unravel what he has written. If you want the promised alternative physical theory, then you will be disappointed.

 
Review by: Andrea I. Hobright

Complex-Time Geometry and Perpetual Creation of Space Research

March 5, 2018

Professor Mohammed Haj Yousef is a professor of physics. His text, "Duality of Time" is a well written and researched work showing the scientific developments from early Babylonian and Sumerian times up through Quantum Physics and String Theory. What is truly interesting is the demonstrable explanations and research regarding time and cosmology from the overlooked thirteenth-century Muslim scholar, Sheikh Muhyiddin Ibn al-'Arabi on unity and oneness in time and cosmology. Professor Haj Yousef has spent over two decades of investigation and research that encompasses many ancient manuscripts of science, philosophy and mystical Sufi traditions up through quantum mechanics and String Theory and he puts together all the contradicting puzzles to unfold this amazing work and discovery that shows proofs that throughout history and 'time' have lead up to this here to fore "unfathomable secret of time and perpetual creation." It is a scientific breakthrough that is worth the study and I am quite sure other scientists and physicists will find the research likewise intriguing and verifiable.

Message from the Author:

I have no doubt that this is the most significant discovery in the history of mathematics, physics and philosophy, ever!

This unique understanding of geometry will cause a paradigm shift in our knowledge of the fundamental nature of the cosmos and its corporeal and incorporeal structures.

Enjoy reading... , all the Best !

Mohamed bin Ali Haj Yousef



The science of Time is a noble science, that reveals the secret of Eternity. Only the Elites of Sages may ever come to know this secret. It is called the First Age, or the Age of ages, from which time is emerging.
Ibn al-Arabi [The Meccan Revelations: Volume I, page 156. - Trns. Mohamed Haj Yousef]

Ibn al-Arabi Website:


The Meccan Revelations:


The Sun from the West:


عربي Arabic

Social Sharing

Like Our Facebook Page:
SINGLEMONAD

Like Our Facebook Page:
IBNALARABICOM


Like this Page on Facebook:

Select any TEXT to Tweet it!

The Moving Finger writes; and, having writ,... Moves on: nor all thy Piety nor Wit, shall lure it back to cancel half a Line. Nor all thy Tears wash out a Word of it.
Omar Khayyam [- - trns. Edward Fitzgerald]
quote